Spartans honored on Division II All-Ohio team

Staff reports

Darius Collins Richard Parrish | The Lima News

COLUMBUS — Lima Senior running back Jaden Walker and offensive linemen Darius Collins were named to the Associated Press 2016 Division II All-Ohio Football third team.

Teammates Keaton Upshaw and Kevontae Tyson were special mention selections.

Walker, who was a first team All-Northwest District pick, rushed for 1,512 yards and scored 22 touchdowns. This marks the second straight year Walker has been honored on the All-Ohio team. Walker was a second-team selection last season.

Collins, the anchor of the Spartans’ offensive line, also made an appearance on the All-Ohio squad for the second consecutive year after being a special mention selection last season.

Upshaw was recognized for his receiving as the Spartan junior hauled in 48 catches for 758 yards and four touchdowns. Tyson, a junior, was honored for his defensive play as the Spartan defensive back recorded 47 tackles and six interceptions.

Warren Harding’s quarterback Lynn Bowden was named the Division II Offensive Player of the Year. The signal caller rushed for more than 2,100 yards and scored 365 touchdowns this year.

Dublin Scioto’s Brian Zimmerman was named the Division II Defensive Player of the Year.

Tennyson Varyen from Columbus Franklin Heights was named coach of the year.

A complete list of Division II All-Ohio team appears on 2C.

Darius Collins Richard Parrish | The Lima News Collins Richard Parrish | The Lima News

Staff reports

comments powered by Disqus