Last updated: August 02. 2014 11:28PM - 224 Views
Special to The Lima News

Mike Campbell | Limaland submitted photo Hud Horton (28) and Shawn Dancer battle for the lead in the Run For the Rabbit Travis Miller memorial race at Limaland Motorsports Park on Friday night.
Mike Campbell | Limaland submitted photo Hud Horton (28) and Shawn Dancer battle for the lead in the Run For the Rabbit Travis Miller memorial race at Limaland Motorsports Park on Friday night.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LIMA — For veteran sprint car driver Shawn Dancer the quest to win a feature at Limaland Motorsports Park has come true. The Delphos-based racer went flag-to-flag Friday night and won the coveted Run for the Rabbit 25-lap NRA Sprint Invaders showdown.

The event quickly turned into a three-car tussle between Dancer, fellow front row starter Hud Horton and Jared Horstman. Dancer and Horstman were content to storm around the high side cushion of the high banked ¼-mile, while Horton took the middle or inside line as his preferred avenue for racing. It remained a three-car engagement with these same racers despite a pair of caution flags and a red flag to slow the race.

A harrowing end-over-end accident involving veteran Todd Heuerman occurred after he made contact with the turn four wall. The Leipsic racer was unable to continue due to damage with his number 18 machine. The incident did set up a four-lap dash to the finish. Shawn Dancer simply turned it into a series of victory laps on his way to a first-ever feature race checkered flag.

“The car was really good and my guys did a great job with the setup,” Dancer said. “It’s awesome for my first win to be the Run for the Rabbit. The family of Travis “Rabbit” Miller is great for putting this on. For me after flipping at Eldora (recently) it was important to do something positive and my whole team really stepped up as this is something special!”

The Modifieds 20-lap feature proved to be a repeat of the previous two weeks as Matt Westfall and Todd Sherman continued their dual domination in the division. Westfall came from behind to edge Sherman at the finish line two weeks ago while Sherman held off Westfall in a similar scenario just last week at the famed western Ohio speed venue.

On Friday, Westfall rolled mostly unthreatened to his third win of 2014.

“We had a really good car tonight and it’s always a good feeling to win,” said a matter-of-fact Westfall. “The longer the green, it seemed the top of the track was best and I didn’t feel like Todd (Sherman) was really gaining much on me.”

Lima’s Jeff Koz continued his hot streak in the Thunderstocks division with his fourth triumph on the season and 17th of his Limaland Motorsports Park career. “We may not have had the best car, but we made it work and it’s great to be back anytime in victory lane,” Koz said. “We had some issues after the heat race, but my guys busted their tails and made this thing work.”

The visiting Tuff Trucks division made their annual trek to Limaland on this evening and pole sitter Chris Hicks became the third of four feature winners to start from the front row. Hicks’ only genuine threat for the lead through the 15-lap race came from fellow trucker Mike Hicks. Race winner Chris Hicks revealed that he has ruled in this division regardless of the race track hosting the competition.

“It wasn’t bad at all here tonight,” understated Hicks on his dominating performance. “This marks my fourth win of the season (including other tracks). It’s a blast to race here at Limaland, even if it’s just once a year.”

Limaland Motorsports Park is back in action Friday with the NRA Challenge, a 25-lap feature for the NRA Sprint Invaders. The Modifieds and Thunderstocks will also battle on the ¼ mile oval. Gates open at 5 p.m. with hot laps beginning at 6:30 p.m. Racing begins at 7:30 p.m. For more information go to limaland.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com