Last updated: May 09. 2014 11:15PM - 285 Views
By Staff Reports sports@limanews.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

ADA — Senior men’s swimmer Jordan Breitigam was named the Gale E. Daugherty outstanding senior male athlete and senior women’s swimmer Lindsey Rayhill was named the Helen A. Ludwig outstanding female athlete.

The Gale. E Daugherty award is given to the most outstanding Ohio Northern senior male athlete. Daugherty was the head coach of the men’s basketball program from 1971 to 1992, amassing a 310-218 career record.

Breitigam, a pharmacy major, is a three time honorable mention all-American in the 200-yard butterfly.

He was named OAC Swimmer of the Year in 2013 and helped lead the Polar Bears to four OAC championships during his four years. Breitigam has won 14 OAC titles and currently holds six school records.

The Helen A. Ludwig award is presented to the most outstanding Ohio Northern senior female athlete. Ludwig is considered one of the developers of women’s athletics at ONU, serving as assistant athletic director and as head coach or assistant coach for nearly all of Northern’s female athletic teams before her retirement in 1984.

Rayhill, a pharmacy major, was named OAC Swimmer of the Year this season, after winning seven titles.

She is the current school record holder in eight events and led the Polar Bears to four consecutive OAC titles in her four years. Rayhill is a 20-time OAC champion and three-time Academic All-OAC honoree.

To be eligible for the award, a athlete must be a senior. The ONU male coaches vote the Gale E. Daugherty award winner and the female coaches vote for the Helen A. Ludwig award winner.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com