Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Kimbrough, Helm D-III, D-IV players of year

March 18. 2014 8:17PM
Staff reports

Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | SaveSave | Hear Generate QR Code QR
Send to Kindle

Lima Central Catholic guard Martyce Kimbrough was named one of three Division III state players of the year.

Kimbrough shared the state honor with Roger Bacon’s Carlas Jackson and Cleveland VASJ’s Brian Parker.

Kimbrough averages 19 points per game. His LCC T-Birds will meet Jackson’s Roger Bacon team in the Division III state semifinals at 2 p.m. Friday at Ohio State.

Rounding out the first team all-state team in Division III are: Chris Moxley, Cols. Hartley, Derek Drewes, Defiance Tinora; Peyton Aldridge, Leavittsburg LaBrae; Antonio Woods, Cin. Summit Country Day; Hayden Dunn, Lucasville Valley; Brian Parker, Cleve. VASJ; Carlas Jackson, St. Bernard Roger Bacon; and Robert Vargo, Martins Ferry, 6-4, sr., 18.5.

In Division IV, Crestview’s Damian Helm was named one of four state players of the year. Helm guided his team to a 27-0 and the state semifinals. He’s averaging 15 points per game and was named first team all-state.

The other Division IV state players of the year were David Dennis Jr., Canal Winchester Harvest Prep; Tyler Cook, New Madison Tri-Village; and Austin Hill, Louisville Aquinas.

Helm’s Crestview team will meet Cook’s Tri-Village team in the state semfinals at 8:30 p.m. on Thursday.

Kimbrough was also named first team all-state.

Ottawa-Glandorf’s Noah Bramlage was selected second team all-state.

St. Henry’s Ryan Mikesell was named third team all-state.

LCC’s Xavier Simpson and Delphos Jefferson’s Trey Smith were named honorable mention in Division III.

In Division IV, Perry’s Bruce Hodges received second team all-state honors. Fort Recovery’s Elijah Kahlig was also second team all-state.

Leipsic’s Zach Kuhlman was named third team all-state.

Rounding out the the first team all-state team in Division IV are: Stephen Carpenter, Lancaster Fairfield Christian Acad.; Jonathan Wiechman, Caldwell; Bryan Gee, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Acad.; Beau Justice, Peebles; David Dennis Jr., Canal Winchester Harvest Prep; Patrick Bain, Tipp City Bethel; Nate Scott, Wellsville; Tyler Cook, New Madison Tri-Village; Austin Hill, Louisville Aquinas; and Geoff Beans, Tol. Ottawa Hills.

The Division III state coaches of the year were Ben Porter, Belmont Union Local; Brian West, Creston Norwayne; C.J. Kin, Carey.

The Division IV state coaches of the year were Josh Sagester, New Madison Tri-Village; Jeremy Best, Convoy Crestview; David Dennis Sr., Canal Winchester Harvest Prep.

comments powered by Disqus

Social Media/RSS
LimaOhio.com on Facebook
LimaOhio.com on Twitter
LimaOhio.com on Youtube
LimaOhio.com on Google+
LimaOhio.com on Pinterest
LimaOhio.com RSS Feeds

Civitas Media